A Confession and a Weight Loss Report


Here’s the confession:

I stated that I would not weigh-in during the first two weeks of South Beach Phase I. For the uninitiated, Phase I is very strict. Only veggies, lean meats and low fat dairy are allowed. But I caved. I weighed in after only three days on the food plan.

Last night, a few hours after blogging about how good I felt,  I began feeling incredibly grumpy. My friend Joann, who was unfortunate enough to call me during this mood episode, will confirm this. I choose to blame the mood on carb withdrawal.

So I woke up this morning in great need of motivation to finish Phase I. Perhaps finding out I’d lost a little weight would do the trick….

Here’s the weight loss report:

Incredibly, I’ve lost 9.5 pounds in three days. Prior to starting South Beach I had gained six of the 70 pounds I’d lost since January 2009. Today’s weight loss result means I’ve lost the six I’d gained plus 3.5 of “new poundage.” I know, I know, the weight lost in Phase I is mostly water. But tell that to the pair of jeans that now fit better.

I’m beginning Day 4 on the Beach feeling grateful and motivated.

And a lot less grumpy.

______

Now that I’ve fessed-up, I really am taking a few days away from the computer. I’ll return shortly to tell you about my fitness adventures.

One day at a time.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Confession and a Weight Loss Report

  1. joann jolly says:

    This is clearly refreshing and very exciting news! Not only am I thrilled to hear of the unexpected weight loss, on a much more personal level, I am relieved to know the frustration was not caused by my less than rudamentary understanding of the subject matter we were discussing last evening.

    Great job, Pamo! Perhaps its time I grab my beach blanket!

    • pamojamo says:

      Yes, Dearest Jo. My frustration was the direct result of a low-carb mood swing. With only 11 days to go on Phase I, this too shall pass. I promise to be kinder the next time you call me with an elementary Four Square phone ap question.

      You are welcome to join me on the Beach. A mutual friend of ours is pondering. The more the merrier!

  2. trish says:

    i thought the confession was going to be a twinkie……. okay happy to hear it was only the weigh in and you didn’t eat the scales! sooooo proud of you!!!

Leave a Reply

