Confessions of a Gym Rat


Last week I was out of town. On Saturday I did my final long run before this Saturday’s half marathon. I took a rest day on Sunday. On Monday I ran in my neighborhood so that I could tackle a mammoth hill. In short, I haven’t been to the gym in a week and a half.

I MISSED MY GYM PEEPS.

Along with all of his other readers, I committed to The AntiJared that I would do a one-hour workout today. It’s not unusual for me to work out for an hour, but because I made a commitment, today was a “no way can I sleep in” day. Because I ran yesterday and will run again tomorrow, today could not be a run day for me (this is taper week before I run a half marathon this weekend.) The only way I was going to keep my commitment was by getting to the gym.

I was so excited to go back. After being away for a week and a half, I had begun to miss the social aspects of being in the gym. My gym is one of the few environments I find myself in where everyone is working towards a common goal: better health. Sure, we all have individual goals. Some may want a faster triathlon time. Some want to lose weight. Some want to lower stress and blood pressure. But EVERYONE at the gym wants to be better today than they were yesterday.

After reviewing my workout, I think I was better today than I was yesterday. I chose to do an upper-body weight lifting session (I’ve been neglecting weight lifting over the past few weeks). Much to my surprise and delight, I increased the weights used in many of my exercises. And today’s accomplishment I am most proud of is….drum roll….I did 15 repetitions on the Captain’s Chair. I have NEVER before completed 15 reps. And these were done straight-legged rather than bent-knee.

I felt like Wonder Woman. And I liked the feeling.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

