Planning to Succeed While Traveling


I’ve just finished packing for a business trip. A fundraising association I am a member of is sending me to a conference in Baltimore. I leave this afternoon and return home late Wednesday night.

Trips of any kind, business or pleasure used to send me into “vacation-mode” thinking. I would eat foods I normally wouldn’t eat as if being in another city gave me license to indulge. Once home I would be mad at myself for gaining weight, plus I had so many addictive substances in my system, I would find myself in yet another relapse.

As I’ve shared before, I don’t know if I have another comeback in me. I’ve been eating and drinking cleanly for quite a while now. I only have a daily reprieve from all of my “isms” so I can’t guarantee you or myself that I’ll follow the straight and narrow while I’m gone. But I have planned ahead and have poised myself for success. Here’s how:

  • I’ve packed oatmeal, protein powder, single serve peanut butter (each cup is actually more than a serving so I’ll ration those), almonds, tuna packets, and salmon packets. Most conferences have complimentary fruit available.
  • I’ve packed recovery literature.
  • I’ve phoned several friends who live life one day at a time. They know I’ll be checking in with them often while I’m gone.
  • I’ve packed my workout clothes and Garmin GPS watch. I’m scheduled for two training runs and one weight-training session during this trip.
  • I’ve made a commitment to myself that when eating out, I’ll order the healthiest item on the menu. If necessary I’ll ask for things to be prepared in a way that meets my needs.
  • My Higher Power will be on this trip with me.
  • I won’t be blogging while I’m gone, but I’ll send Tweets via Twitter as a way of keeping myself accountable.

    (A note about comments: In addition to not blogging, I’ll not have an opportunity to monitor comments. Those who’ve commented on this blog before will be automatically approved. New visitors can leave a comment for me to approve once I’m in front of the computer. I wish I didn’t have to moderate, but the last time I loosened the controls, some p0rn0 folks slipped through.)

    I’ll blog here as soon as possible upon my return home. And I’ll be brutally honest regarding the trip.

    This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

    One Response to Planning to Succeed While Traveling

    1. Pingback: I’m Baaack! « 482gr8

    Leave a Reply

    