Answering Jack Sh*t


A few weeks ago, weight loss blogger Jack Sh*t wrote a post that asked “why?” He wrote that he finds the most compelling weight-loss blog posts to be those in which the writer explains why he or she wishes to lose weight, rather than posts that document “what I ate today” and “how many miles I ran,” etc.

I’ve been meaning to answer Jack’s “why” question here. But so many other issues have come to mind, I’ve failed to tackle the why. Tonight I surfed through a few past posts and I realize I’ve already somewhat answered the question. So I’m taking the easy way out and I’m posting links to those answers. Jack, forgive my laziness.

Here goes…

My Story, Part I
It’s Only Once a Year

Why have I taken this fitness journey?

  • First and foremost, I’ve survived addiction relapses. But I don’t know if I have another comeback in me, so today I choose not to eat addictive foods.
  • I know what it’s like to be in shape. I know what it’s like to be out of shape. In shape feels better.
  • I want to live my second 50 years healthier than I did my first 50.
  • Since giving up sugar, people tell me I look younger (Vanity, thy name is Pam).
  • I want to be a living example to those who are unhappy with the way they look and feel. I want people to know that if I can do it, so can they.
  • By staying away from addictive substances and by working a program of recovery, I have a formula for living that brings me more peace and joy than any dessert or rum and Coke ever could.
  • One day at a time….

    This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

    5 Responses to Answering Jack Sh*t

    1. Good job on the answers, but I have to take off points for tardiness…

    2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Answering Jack Sh*t « 482gr8 -- Topsy.com

    3. Kathleen says:

      Being sugar-free is the best thing I’ve ever done for myself. (And, no, I never would’ve believed *that!*) I still haven’t answered Jack — you’re ahead of me.

    Leave a Reply

    