Six-Month Fitness Test Results


Two days before turning 48, I took a three-part fitness test at Fitness Wave. I plan to retest every six months until I turn 50. Today was my first six-month retest. Here are the results.

Metabolism
My metabolism is is not as fast as it was six months ago. In the evaluation process my metabolism is compared to the average person of my height, weight, age and gender. Six months ago my metabolism was 17% higher than average. Today it is 6% higher than average. But since I don’t weigh as much as I did six months ago, and I’m a little older, I was evaluated against slightly different statistics. The exercise kinesiologist I worked with told me this is nothing to worry about. In fact, last September he gave me a daily calorie goal that seemed to me to be too high, but it was based on my metabolism at that time. Based on today’s number he lowered my daily calorie goal by 500 calories a day. I’m much more comfortable with this and I am confident I will eat enough food each day to keep my metabolism firing.

Body Composition
I’ve lost 11.5 pounds since my last test. This averages to about a half a pound a week. The kinesiologist would like to see me lose one pound per week, but he was pleased I’m trending in the right direction. I’ve only lost 2.5% body fat since last September, but again, I was affirmed for trending in the right direction. I’ve lost some lean body mass as well, but I’m told this is to be expected. To quote the kinesilogist, “To get to the goal weight you’ve set for yourself, you’re going to have to give up some lean mass. It’s ok.” (I wish I had gotten a fitness test when I first started losing weight 76 pounds ago. The results would probably be dramatic at this point.)

In my opinion, the body composition test is a better indicator of my health than merely weighing on a scale. Scale weight only tells me the total number of pounds I weigh rather than the breakdown of those pounds (lean body mass, fat, fluids). If I keep reminding myself of this, maybe I can let go of my tendency to weigh myself too often and putting too much importance on that number.

VO2
This is where I saw the best improvement. My aerobic threshold improved by six points. My anaerobic threshold improved by 1.5 points. My peak threshold improved by 2.9 points. I received a chart that shows how many calories I burn during an hour of exercise at various average heart rates. My new chart shows I now burn more calories per hour than I did six months ago. Before I was half way through the treadmill test the kinesiologist told me, “Wow, you’ve been doing some cardio since the last time you’ve been here.” Why, yes I have. Thank you!

Kinda Sorta Disappointed
I’m disappointed in my small percentage of fat loss. I called my uber-fit friend, Lynn, who was waiting to hear my results. She helped me review the past few months and helped me see the success. I over-trained for the Saint Jude Half Marathon and returned home with an inflamed bursa sac in my hip. I had to greatly reduce my exercise for two months while I healed. As I was healing, I hit a patch of Seasonal Affective Disorder, making it difficult for me to awake at 4 a.m. to get to the gym. Thankfully, that started to lift a few weeks ago and I feel more like myself now. Lynn also knew me at my top weight, so in her eyes I’m doing great, although she’s one of those friends who pushes me to do even better. I love her for that.

The Next Six Months
My fitness improvements have motivated me. I’m eager to see what I can accomplish before my next test in mid-September. I’m about a month away from my next half-marathon, and so far I don’t show any signs of hip pain, so I don’t expect to be sidelined after the event.

Looking ahead, I’ve got six months’ worth of opportunities to make good choices and to continue to move in the right direction. One day at a time, I can do this.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six-Month Fitness Test Results

  1. tim-10-ber says:

    You go girl!! You are doing great!! I am so proud of you!!

Leave a Reply

