Back Out There


I’ve been dealing with some nagging hip pain ever since completing the St. Jude Half Marathon on December 5. This is likely due to logging in too many training miles leading up to the race. While I’m not completely healed, I can’t stand not running. So today I got back out there.

Since St. Jude, I’ve worked out four to six days per week.  But during December, I could only swim and take spin classes. I gingerly added Boot Camp in January. And prior to today I’ve done three treadmill sessions. So for all intents and purposes, today was my first day to “go out for a run” since December 5.

I wasn’t sure what to expect. Yes, I’ve continued to cross train, but nothing prepares one for running like running. Had my stamina decreased to the point that I would need walk breaks? (There’s nothing wrong with walk breaks; I just personally no longer take them.) Would my hip radiate pain? And how about that knee that required surgery in 2008? Would it carry me through?

It was a georgeous morning and I headed to my favorite running trail. I brought along my new training partner, the Garmin Forerunner 305. It was my first time to use it. I hate to use the word “love” to describe my feelings for inanimate objects, but I LOVE this thing. It’s a GPS watch that connects to satelites and it tells me how far I’ve run and my pace per mile. I was unable to get my heartrate information, but I’ll figure that out in time.

My Garmin told me that I ran 3.62 miles. Perfect! I had no intention of running more than four miles today, so I’m pleased with this distance. My pace was slow and I felt sluggish from not having run in so long, but I know steady improvements will come if I am patient.  I felt pain in my hip during the entire run, but it was not severe and as I write this three hours later I don’t hurt any more than I did before running (note: my trainer and another trainer friend of mine are aware I am running through the pain. I have suggested stretches to complete and I’m going to start taking anti-inflammatories this week.)

Being back out there made me feel like my old self again. I kinda like that old self!

Here’s a link for information about the Garmin Forerunner 305.

http://www.rei.com/product/735450

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back Out There

  1. Rebekah Sticht Hayes says:

    God bless technology being put to good use!!

Leave a Reply

