The Brotherhood of the Traveling Jacket


The family spent New Year’s evening at my mom’s house for our annual “eating of the black-eyed peas.” My nephew and I each wore leather jackets, which we tossed on a bed in the guestroom.

When it was time to leave I grabbed my jacket and headed out the door. We were about halfway home when I noticed the jacket felt a little big. This is the first leather jacket I’ve ever owned and I’ve only had it a week.  As I was wondering whether leather stretched, my hub’s cell phone rang. It was my sister calling to tell us I had grabbed my nephew’s jacket by mistake.

As we turned around and headed back to mom’s, it occurred to me that there was no way I could have worn my nephew’s jacket 68 pounds ago. He is a very fit 19-year-old and while his jacket certainly isn’t petite, trust me, I would not have been able to cram myself into it.

Once we arrived back at mom’s I told my nephew that I was excited to be able to fit into his jacket and that it even felt a little big. He told me my jacket was too small for him and that was his first clue that it wasn’t his. (I’m sure he then figured out it wasn’t a guys’ jacket.) He sorta beamed as he told me this.

I’m taking this as a sign that 2010 is going to be a great year for my fitness journey.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

