Yes, One Taste Will Hurt (me)


We are celebrating the hub’s birthday today. I’m treating relatives to a restaurant meal, afterward it’s on to mom’s for ice cream, cake (or in our case, brownies) and presents. My task this afternoon was to make the brownies. I’ve already told you I’m highly addicted to sugar and I simply don’t touch the stuff. So making brownies was a challenge.

I’d already decided that whether or not I licked the bowl, I would post results here. First, you need to know in my unhealthy eating days I preferred brownie batter over the baked goods, cookie dough over cookies, etc. Without letting hubs know I was feeling triggered, I decided to make the brownies while he was in the kitchen having a post-churchlunch. Honestly, he would not have noticed or cared whether or not I licked the batter, but in my mind I had a witness to my actions.

As I mixed and poured the batter into the pan, I used my finger to get all of the remaining batter off the spatula. And there it was, temptation resting right there on my index finger. Quick action was needed. I immediately washed my hands and watched temptation go down the drain.

This may not seem like a big deal to you, but it’s huge to anyone who understands the strong hold sugar can have. I am glad that (so far) today I’ve given the hubs the best gift possible, a wife who hasn’t had anything to eat or drink that is addictive for me.

One day at a time…..

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes, One Taste Will Hurt (me)

  1. christie says:

    I am so proud of you!!!!!! I can’t believe our similarities…we need to have lunch and talk…maybe you can inspire me! I love you :-)))

  2. pamojamo says:

    Christie, Thanks for reading. Lunch with you would be a treat. Just name the time and I’ll meet you.

Leave a Reply

