Welcome to 482GR8


Welcome to 482gr8.  My name is Pam and I’m a 48 year-old who is on a quest to get into the best shape of my life by the time I turn 50. This journey began on September 16th, my 48th birthday. I plan to celebrate the Big 50 by running in the Air Force Marathon on September 17, 2011.

Why the Air Force Marathon? I have three reasons. (1) It occurs the day after my 50th birthday. (2) It occurs on  September 17th,  my late father’s birthday. For the first 41 years of my life, my dad and I enjoyed our shared birthday celebrations. My birthday hasn’t been as much fun since he died in 2003. That the Air Force Marathon falls on his day gives me a chance to share our birthdays again.  (3) My dad served in the Army Air Corp during WWII. Once the Air Force was founded, dad always identified with that branch of the armed services.

I’ve been sharing my marathon plans with my workout buddies at the YMCA and I’m hopeful a posse will be joining me. But if not, I’m prepared to go it alone.

In future posts I’ll tell you more about myself and why I’m going from 48 to Great.

This entry was posted in Health and Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to 482GR8

  1. Paula says:

    I am so proud of you! And excited for you. I have always found writing to be an important part of my healing, no matter what the wounding.
    While I don’t think I’ll be running any marathons on September 17, 2011 (I will turn 60 eight days later!) I will certainly be rooting for you.

    I don’t run (or even jog much) anymore. But if you want a walking partner and our schedules match, count me in.

    Slow and steady wins the “race”…and I don’t mean the marathon.

  2. Melissa says:

    Pam – you really are walking the walk sister. You know what you are talking about because you live it. I love you and congratulations!

Leave a Reply

